AGENDA

ENHANCED ENTERPRISE ZONE BOARD MEETING MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

March 3, 2022

4:00 p.m.

City Hall Annex 520 Main Street Belton, MO 64012

- I. Call Meeting to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of February 11, 2021, Meeting Minutes
- IV. Review of Enhanced Enterprise Zone Activity
- V. Annual State Report Filed October 2021
- VI. Annual Election of Chairperson
- VII. Adjournment

EXHIBIT A

FEBRUARY 11, 2021, MEETING MINUTES

Minutes of the Enhanced Enterprise Zone Electronic Meeting

https://www.belton.org/watch February 11, 2021

CALL TO ORDER

Carolyn Yatsook, Economic Development Director, called the electronic meeting to order at 4:07 p.m.

ATTENDANCE

Members present via videoconference: Sally Smith, Ron Peek, Ronald Branan, Councilmember David Clark, Dr. Andrew Underwood, and Dennis Williamson

Absent: Commissioner Tom MacPherson

Staff present via videoconference: Carolyn Yatsook, Economic Development Director; and Jordan Lea, Economic Development & Communications Specialist

APPROVAL OF DECEMBER 12, 2019 MEETING MINUTES

A motion to approve the minutes was made by Councilmember Clark. Ronald Branan seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

REVIEW OF ENHANCED ENTERPRISE ZONE

Ms. Yatsook informed the board that since the last annual meeting there have been no projects and no developers have requested to utilize the Enhanced Enterprise Zone incentive.

Ms. Yatsook informed the board that the City Council adopted the modifications and updates to the City of Belton Economic Development Incentive Policy by resolution (R2021-08) at the City Council meeting on February 9, 2021.

ANNUAL STATE REPORT

Ms. Yatsook informed the board that each year the city files a report with the State of Missouri to inform them of any new activity and a list of the current board members. Ms. Yatsook informed the board that the annual report was filed October 2020.

ANNUAL ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

Councilmember Clark nominated to reappoint Dr. Underwood as the Chairman. Dennis Williamson seconded the motion. All members voted in favor.

Mr. Williamson asked Ms. Yatsook if anyone has taken advantage of the EEZ incentive. Ms. Yatsook said no, people have inquired about it, but ultimately, they don't choose the EEZ incentive.

There was a discussion about who to contact at the state level to possibly make changes to the EEZ incentive. There was also discussion about the possibility of dissolving the EEZ incentive.

Councilmember Clark asked if a citizen with a residential business in the EEZ zone could qualify for EEZ incentives. Ms. Yatsook said she will confirm with the Missouri Department of Economic Development and get back with Councilmember Clark.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn was made by Councilmember Clark. Sally Smith seconded the motion. All members voted in favor. The meeting adjourned at 4:29 p.m.

Dr. Andrew Underwood EEZ Board Chairman

Carolyn Yatsook
Economic Development Director